News Karnataka


Condemnation of Home Minister’s statement on groundnut crop

Photo Credit : News Karnataka

Puttur: There is no future for the groundnut crop in the near future. In this regard, a protest was held by Block Congress Committee and Congress Kisan Unit near Amar Jawan Jyoti Circle in front of Mini Vidhana Soudha, Puttur, condemning the statement given by State Home Minister Araga Gyanendra that groundnut growers should focus on alternative crops.

Speaking at the protest, former MLA Shakuntala T Shetty said that the role of peanuts in the economic development of the district is important. The statement given by the Home Minister that groundnut is the reason for the growth of the district and there is no future for groundnut is reprehensible. After the BJP-led government came to power, there is no future for anything except peanuts. The BJP government is not making any effort to find a solution to the yellow disease and leaf spot disease that has come to groundnut. In order to condemn the Home Minister’s statement and build confidence among the growers, the party will hold a protest at the village level in the coming days. He said that if the Congress government comes to power, the hope will be raised that the Congress will stand as a pro-farmer government.
KPCC General Secretary Krupa Amar Alva said that the role of farmers in the progress of the country is very important. The work of the BJP government is going on to trample the farmers by making unfounded statements about groundnuts. On the other hand, the price of groundnut is falling due to the import policy.
In this regard, he said, let the government do the work of stopping the import of groundnuts.
KPCC General Secretary MS Muhammad said that the Home Department has completely failed in administration. All the groundnut farmers of the state will make the BJP government have no future in the next elections. Congress gave land ownership to farmers, Congress gave free electricity. Because of this BJP farmers are living today, he said.
Puttur Block Congress President M. B. Vishwanath Rai, City Congress President H. Mahammadali, District Spokesperson Muralidhara Rai Mathantabettu, Uppinangadi-Vitla Block President Dr. Rajaram KB, District Kisan Unit Muralidhara Rai, Secretary Vikram Santhya, Nagar Sabha Member Md. Riaz, party leaders Dhananjaya Adpangaya, Amala Ramachandra, Prasad Kaushal Shetty, Lancey Mascarenes, AK Jayarama Rai, Krishnaprasad Alva, Praveenchandra Alva, Vijay Kumar Sorake, Sahira Zubair, Bharat Mundodi, Abhishek, Joaquin D’Souza, Maurice Mascarenes, Sharon Sequeira Others were present.

News Karnataka

Read More Articles
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *